Flanders in NZ 15 – Orange is the New Black

Continuing with last week’s theme–I’ve been on a demolition site for a couple of weeks, at this point orange really is my new black. Paired with my favorite coach sunglasses when I have to stand in the sun for too long I might as well start writing a construction site style book. Maybe the few of us females that work in the construction industry will read it. If I was enjoying the top-of-the-pedestal view right now I’d write a bit about how I felt when there was only 1 option for female boots when I went to buy a new pair last month, or how I daily consider tailoring my hi-vis vest so it doesn’t get caught on anything. I’ll save that for later…

01

Site Style Selfie

Last week the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra came to town. A colleague and I had been talking about plays and Shakespeare when we saw a flyer for the NZSO’s upcoming program – “Shakespeare in Music” Even better, they were performing in the local Air Force Museum! I thought there would be an actual concert venue there, but we walked into a hanger full of planes and the orchestra was set up right in the middle of it all — it was an incredible venue!

1

NZSO at the Air Force Museum

Saturday was a beautiful day. incredibly warm for a day in the middle of August in the southern hemisphere. So obviously Keith & I headed to the beach. Well Keith went on a 10 mile run, I ran a measly 3 and then took some photos of the Sumner area to compare to 2 years ago. It’s pretty much the same–the containers are still along the cliff, and the houses are still up there at the edge, too dangerous to even demolish. A recent news story discussed helicopters soon being used to take debris off the cliffs.

2

Sumner Beach Containers

Saturday night we cooked up some BBQ chicken and had our neighbors over before heading out to some new Chch bars for the night. There’s been a cat hanging around our duplex so the neighbors brought it over with them and I sort of fell in love (this is big coming from a dog person). It disappears at night so I presume it has an owner or sleeping spot somewhere…but hangs out on our porches during the day and follows us where we go. Is it bad that I keep my fingers crossed that it will keep showing up? It is quite the adorable feline.

3

Cat Friend

As impossible as I thought it was, Sunday was a complete 180 — freezing and rainy. So we headed to She Chocolate with a colleague and friend and enjoyed some hot mochas (chocolate spoons always included!) and words of wisdom.

4

She Chocolat

Hope this made for a good Week 15 gap filler! Looking forward to putting together next week’s post all about Sydney and the Gold Coast (and my dream of holding a koala!)

Leave a Reply

