New Zealand 12 – “Do we still work when it snows?”

With June 1st came winter in New Zealand. Apparently the June 20th winter/summer solstice date doesn’t have much clout here. If winter remains a high of 15C (60F) everyday, sounds like a good season to me (this coming from someone born & raised in Massachusetts, I don’t think my California coworkers will agree with me on this one). Realistically, there is actually snow in the forecast for tomorrow. Our native New Zealand intern asked me before he left today if we would still work when it snowed.  When I said “most likely yes” he gave me a great look of horror. For the record Christchurch shuts down when it snows, but apparently you can always go to KFC for some tasty chicken.

The week was another busy one, but it’s just starting to become a typical occurrence. Typically 4pm comes around (the time my multiple cups of espresso coffee intake has worn down), I’ll switch up my iPhone to play some more upbeat guilty-pleasure music and can run on that for as long as I need to.  I visited a couple more churches (unreinforced stone work doesn’t always fare so well in earthquakes) and got entangled in another fun conversation with the same priest from before. Although, after we proved we didn’t bite, were nice people, and were actually trying to move along the insurance process he became downright friendly. Slowly but surely I am making friends with the locals. The local coffee shop barista even called me over the other day and said “Jennifer right?” as he handed me my latte with a smile. You’ve got to love the days when you finally become a regular.

This 3-day weekend kicked off Friday with yet another apartment dinner party & movie night. Another amazing meal was cooked for all. A good Christchurch office requirement should probably be that at least 2 great cooks that double as engineers be present at all times.  As I shared in the last post, Star Wars was our movie night last week, this week we decided to watch Caddyshack (one of these days I’ll convince everyone to watch a movie made after the 1990s, working on it…). With our favorite marathon runners – Viviana & Nick – gearing up for the Christchurch marathon on Sunday a few of us planned some surprises. During lunch on Friday I escaped work with another coworker and made a giant cookie cake that we turned into a race course. Additionally, we made mildly ridiculous custom cape flags for both marathon runners to wear once they crossed the finish line. Four less ambitious coworkers, myself included, entered ourselves into the 10k–the shortest race available for the Christchurch Marathon event. The six racers spent most of the rest of the weekend watching movies, eating a lot, working a bit, and running together.

A few photos to capture the weekend–

Solving Problems = pulling out the ironing board when you don’t have enough counter space to decorate.

The infamous cookie cake. I finally got to bake in New Zealand. Each runner got to claim their own “runner” animal.

Typical dinner party spread. Note the numerous amounts of bread.

We can dream right? – at the Christchurch Marathon Expo

Stormtroopers at the marathon? Star Wars lives on…

Team 10k, still alive

Any ideas for our next movie night? I’ve given up hope that a chick flick will ever be a top choice.  Maybe I can swing Moulin Rouge or Princess Bride one of these days.

3 thoughts on “New Zealand 12 – “Do we still work when it snows?”

  1. Bonnie Lepage says:

    Glad the 10K went well for you Jenn! Got to spend Friday with your Mom – so great to catch up with her for the day!

  2. “Moulin Rouge” felt so odd for the first few minutes that I seriously considered getting up and leaving. Then, after about ten minutes, it just “clicked” and I loved it. Definitely worth sharing with your coworkers! Also consider “Things Change,” which is a mobster comedy. Thoughtful enough and well-enough written (David Mamet!) that you’ll appreciate it as cinema, and goofy enough and mobby enough that the popcorn set should appreciate it.

    • himma2 says:

      Thanks for the input Mark. I’ll have to check out this Things Change movie. My coworkers are deeply set into the classics, so it might be hard to shift!

Leave a Reply

