Jen’s Half Marathon Challenge 2010

So I made the comment on facebook this past week that I thought I’d like to run a half-marathon within the next 2 years.  This got a surprising amount of feedback, including:

Jon (my brother) – “hahahahahahahaha”

Rick – “All at once or 0.54 miles per month?”

Yvonne – “yay! thats awesome!”

Coach Savi (old xc coach) – “This one just stuns me!! ….”

Chris – “I’ll be there”

So despite my brother laughing at me and former running coach being ‘stunned’, I think this will be a really fun goal.  And with some advice from others, 2 years has turned into more like 6 months.  If I start training now, I think I might get pretty bored without some action 2 yrs from now.  Therefore, I have set my alarm at 7am most days this past week so I could get in a run before heading to the office for the day.

In addition to running, I’d also like to point out my cross-training–walking to class everyday.  I’ve been used to climbing to school everyday, in which I complain blogged about in undergrad (the fact that every higher education institution has to be built on a hill).  However, I don’t think I’ll ever complain about WPI’s hill again after being at Cornell for the past several months.

After doing a little topography digging here’s my results:  my office is about 805 ft above sea level. Walk starts at around 525 ft above sea level.  The difference?  280 feet of vertical elevation on my morning walk.  Therefore, this can be equated to me going up and down Mt. Wachusett about every 3.5 days.

Ithaca Topography

Between running and climbing–bring it on Half Marathon Challenge!!

Leave a Reply

