No Sleep for the Weary

The week’s been rough.  Probably the reason I’ve gone over a week and haven’t posted.  I decided to check off one of the “161 Things To Do” (which by the way, the page has been updated on this site) and take a class I think is impossible for fun.  This class is — Non Linear Finite Elements.  I have no idea why I decided to take it, our entire program was required to take Introduction to Finite Element Analysis last semester and I HATED it.  The class was awful.  So all in all, the only reason I can think of why I now represent the 10% of the class that is NOT a PhD student, and is a female, is because a small ounce of me thought it might be fun.  And now that I’m done with the first homework, I realize it is kinda fun, in a freaky nerdish way, but the process is always the difficult part….one part of the process shown below:

my plate blew up on me

This week has been a week of <=6hr sleep nights.  I pride myself on 8 hours, so less than that has been a bit rough.  I’m still trying to not jinx myself for never getting the flu shot (counting the minutes until my mother reads that and calls me to yell about my health).

Now that I’m done with that rant, in other more social news:

Olympics – also aiding to my lack of sleep. Loving that USA is dominating in Nordic Combined.  At least we’re good in one form of cross-country skiing.

Home last Wkend – for a potential job meeting, to cheer on Cornell vs Harvard hockey,  & of course to watch Keith win the Hampton Half Marathon.  A great day to go to the beach.

first trip of the season to the beach

last few meters

Ithaca Eatery Counter – last night Roommate and I braved the Ithaca Snowpocalypse to practice our Cornell Birthday tradition–going out to eat at the WPI Alumni Birthday boy/girls restaurant of choice every time the glorious event occurs (I’m still bitter that my birthday fall AFTER graduation once I leave…).  Anyways, Birthday Boy Rick chose Bandwagon–a trendy brew house.  The atmosphere actually reminded me a bit of Stellas basement bar room.  Rick being a huge beer buff chose the place because they brew their own beer right there…literally…it was sitting in copper pots fermenting right in front of us! I ordered the famous cornbread waffles and chili.  Yes, it sounded rather gross but was so good!

Parentals are visiting next month, so if Roommate and I are lucky, we’ll add a few more places to the list!

Now onto a hopefully successful weekend – successful meaning: being able to find the last shovel being sold in Ithaca so I can get find my car in the snow outside.

2 thoughts on “No Sleep for the Weary

Leave a Reply

