1 semester down, 1 to go

After what seemed like a short stint at home, I’m back in Ithaca. Not going to lie, I was really bummed about coming back here.  I had a great holiday spending time at home and traveling all over Massachusetts.  Highlights included Fire & Ice birthday parties, a bridal shower, cookie swap, gingerbread house baking, some networking, and of course–Ugg moccasins and Sperry Topsiders (I have a thing for shoes at Christmas).  Although, after I stepped foot back in the apartment and caught up again with my structural peers I settled right back in to how my life ran as clockwork last semester.

Actual classes don’t start till next Monday.  So why did I arrive a couple weeks early?  Our Masters of Engineering project is due sometime mid-April; and because of the smart students we are, the Structures kids decided to come back early to work 10-hr days solely on our project before being tied down with numerous difficult classes.  It’s been great getting work done.  And it will feel awesome to have a substantial amount worked on before the semester starts; however, going from complete lack of work (known as winter break) to constant 10- hr days with no weekends has seemed to take it’s toll on me already.  Guess it’s just getting me used to my future as a consultant right? 🙂

Well, as an aside, the roommate and I were able to find a bit of time yesterday morning to get away from work. (Chenny has been back early working in the lab for his PhD work constantly as well).  Because our typical brunch place is closed for the long break, we had to substitute in Statler Brunch.  The Statler is Cornell’s renowned 5-star hotel.   Although I can’t afford a room in the hotel, I can manage to somewhat afford their great buffet Sunday brunch at least until the Carriage House reopens.

Dessert at the Statler Hotel's Brunch

Here’s to a next semester full of “learning points” (as our adviser likes to call them), friends, enjoying the last collegiate classes of my life, friends, and enjoying the Finger Lake Region.

Leave a Reply

