Grad school lesson #4 bad things always happen on exam days

Yesterday I had my first big prelim of the school year.  Why they are called “prelims” at Cornell I really don’t know, all of us grad student outsiders have only dealt with the term “exam” or “midterm.”  Well with that aside, I was up all night on Wednesday trying to study for Finite Elements as well as finish Solid Mechanics.  With that digression aside, I wake up early Thursday morning to bring my car to a local gas station.  Why would I bring my car to a local gas station? To fill up my underpressurized tires of course.  I pull the car out of my parking spot, hear some funny noises, and realize my tire is flat.  Irony, right?  Realizing you have  a flat tire on the way to put air in your tires.

Now…why would this really matter, because I rarely use my car in Ithaca.  In fact, I have barely used a half a tank of gas within the past month and a half.  However, yesterday night I was supposed to be in Rochester for a WPI information session I volunteered to help out with.  Unfortunately this didn’t happen.

Anyways, the prelim sucked, I didn’t get to go to Rochester, and my car is still sitting in the parking spot with a flat tire.  And on top of that Chenny’s homework got pushed to being due smack in the middle of Fall Break, so no Niagara Falls. As the title suggests, bad things always happen on exam days.

One thought on “Grad school lesson #4 bad things always happen on exam days

  1. They’re “preliminary” exams as opposed to “final” exams. They’ve been called that for decades, for no good reason I can think of when everyone else says “midterms.” 🙂

Leave a Reply

