Time to stop being Polite, and start getting Real

Wow it’s been a crazy week.  I’ve met a lot of random people and started to become moderately good at memorizing names–this is a life skill that should be learned much sooner than the age of 22.  Nothing’s more awkward than having a 3 hour conversation with someone, asking them for their cell phone number, and not knowing what to put in the “Name” section…yeah, it’s happened.  I feel like I’m straight out of a Seinfeld episode–“Delores!!”

Anyways, there’s 15 of us kiddos in the Structures group and everyone seems really great so far.  These are the people I’m going to practically live with, work with, eat with, yet no sleeping since that’s strictly forbidden in the graduate student lounge (only naps!).  This whole situation reminds me of some nerdier and purpose-filled version of the Real World.  If any network out there needs a new reality T.V. show idea, feel free to follow us around for the next year.

Some more technical facts are that I took my first two classes on Thursday – Intermediate Solid Mechanics & Concrete Design.  My concrete design class is taught by, basically, the concrete guru of America, which of course, is awesome.  I’m still a bit weary about class choices since I already have a pretty good background on most of these topics, but I figured I’ll just strengthen that foundation (excuse the civil pun) and focus on our Master’s Project.

I’ll leave you with a few pictures I’ve taken in and around Ithaca–

They farm a lot here in upstate NY.  Found in the Ithaca Mall.

They farm a lot here in upstate NY. Found in the Ithaca Mall.

The Hot, errr...Sketchy Truck.  Serving gross, yet delicious food.  Haven't tried it yet.

The Hot, errr...Sketchy Truck. Serving gross, yet delicious food. Haven't tried it yet.

Found a little bit of central MA (& WPI) in Wegman's grocery store.

Found a little bit of central MA (& WPI) in Wegman's grocery store.

The view from my office, which includes the south side of Cayuga Lake.

The view from my office, which includes the south side of Cayuga Lake to the right.

2 thoughts on “Time to stop being Polite, and start getting Real

  1. Wow, your view’s one of the best on campus! And you sure are convenient to Collegetown at lunchtime. (Or beertime.)

    Don’t be shy about asking people to repeat or spell their names. “I’m sorry, I’m meeting so many people and your name just flew right by” is easy for people to buy around here. 🙂

  2. Wow, blueberry beer? Lol… that reminds me of a funny story (but I won’t spam your comments with it…..it could get long)
    That was a funny pun, actually. Right up there with Piers Anthony’s Xanth series 😀 (fantasy-done-right, in my opinion 😀 )

Leave a Reply

